Ondangwa Town councillors not election candidates

08 Oct 2015 19:30pm
OSHAKATI, 08 OCT (NAMPA) – The Swapo Party primaries held in the Oshana Region to select candidates for the Ondangwa Local Authority elections did not result in any serving members of the council being elected as candidates.
Coordinator of the Swapo Party in the Oshana Region, Erastus Kapolo told Nampa on Thursday the primaries for candidates for the Ondangwa Local Authority was held on Sunday.
“Although the voting out of all the serving councillors has surprised us, no complaints of irregularities were reported to the regional office up to now,” Kapolo stated.
According to him, the results demonstrate the choice of the Ondangwa community and the desire to have a completely new town leadership.
All the candidates who will contend for seats in the seven-member Ondangwa Town Council during the upcoming Regional Council and Local Authorities Election on 27 November, will be new faces.
The candidates are Abed Paulus, Anna Itope, Saima Namukwambi, Andreas Kalumbu, Paavo Amwele, Appolo Dengeinge and Fenni Nanyeni.
The town’s Mayor, Leonard Negonga and his council members, namely Helena Mundjele (Deputy Mayor), Christian Itope (Chairperson of the town’s Management Committee), Sem Nangolo and Sylvia Eelu were all voted out.
It is only councillor Elia Irimari who survived the chop, as he has been elected as the Swapo Party candidate for the Ondangwa Urban Constituency in the regional elections.
In Ongwediva Town, John yaKanandjembo (Chairperson of the Management Committee) and Miriam Katau-Amoomo were also voted out.
The list of the Swapo Party candidates for the Local Authority Election at Ongwediva is topped by Ulalia Katonyala, a new candidate.
Other candidates are Petrus Malakia, Angelina Angula (Deputy Mayor), Johannes Shitundeni, Jason Asino (Mayor), Naemi Amuthenu and Maria Kavalela.
All Swapo Party members of the Oshakati Town Council have been re-elected to be the party’s candidates for the Local Authorities Election at the town.
These candidates are Gabriel Kamwanka (Chairperson of the Management Committee), Angelius Iyambo, who has made a comeback, Johannes Shilongo, Onesmus Shilunga (Mayor), Katrina Shimbulu, Loise Shivolo and Ndamononghenda Hamunyela (Deputy Mayor).
The Rally for Democracy and Progress (RDP) currently occupies the seventh seat in the town councils of Ondangwa, Ongwediva and Oshakati.