Southern Stream First Division kicks off this weekend

08 Oct 2015 10:40am


With the Namibia Premier League (NPL)'s season in full swing, the 2015/16 Southern Stream First Division (SSFD) is scheduled to kick-off over the weekend in different towns around the country.

The Namibian first division is divided into three streams, which are the North West First Division (NWFD), North East First Division (NEFD) and Southern Stream First Division (SSFD).

In the 2014/15 season, Flamingo from Rehoboth won the SSFD, Rundu Chiefs won the NEFD while Young Chiefs from Oshakati won the NWFD.

The three teams were thus automatically promoted to Namibia's elite league, the NPL for the 2015/16 season. This coming weekend will see the SSFD kick off in Walvis Bay, Kalkrand, Swakopmund, Keetmanshop, Gobabis and Windhoek.

A total of 12 teams will challenge for top honours and a promotion to the 2016/17 NPL season. Speaking to Nampa on Wednesday, southern stream League Administrator, Mervin Geiriseb said everything is in order and they cannot wait for the ball to start rolling. 

"This will be a very tough season in the Southern Stream First Division. We are having four teams that have joined the league from the second division and then Rebels, who were relegated from the NPL. One thing that will make this league entertaining is the likes of Young Africa, Young Brazilians, Blue Boys and Try Again, who I believe will all be challenging for top honours of promotion to the NPL next season," said Geiriseb.

He added that by Friday, all teams will have their player cards and monthly allowance so fans should expect to be thrilled by exciting football in the six town's in which the league will kick off this weekend. Gairiseb also said the likes of Khomasdal-based Spartan Football Club and Kaizen Football Academy (KFA), who finished as runner ups to last season's league winner Flamingo, will no longer be plying their trade in the division.

Spartan sold their status to Western Spurs from Walvis Bay while KFA sold its status to Hardap Boys FC from Mariental. Teams that gained promotion to the division from their respective leagues are Date Eleven from Keetmanshop and Khomas Nampol from Windhoek.