Namibia names starting line-up for Georgia match

06 Oct 2015 10:30am
WINDHOEK, 06 OCT (NAMPA) - The coach of Namibia’s senior national rugby team, Phil Davies has made seven changes to his starting team for their Pool C Rugby World Cup clash against Georgia on Wednesday.
The Welwitschias have thus far played two games at the 2015 Rugby World Cup currently underway in England.
In their first match of the tournament against defending champions New Zealand, they lost 14-58, and in the second game they lost 21-35 to Tonga.
A media statement availed to Nampa on Tuesday by Namibia Rugby Union (NRU) officials attending the event said the coach has made seven changes to the squad that played against Tonga last week.
“Four of the changes are up front and three at the back from the starting team that did duty against Tonga. In the forward pack, Davies has brought back Raoul Larson at tight head, while veteran Johnnie Redelinghuys will earn his 49th cap starting at loose head,” it said.
The statement further noted that in the second row, Davies was forced to make a change with Janco Venter ruled out through injury.
Pieter-Jan van Lill, who started at lock against the All Blacks, will again do duty in the number four shirt.
“At the side of the scrum, Tinus du Plessis, who produced an outstanding performance against New Zealand, also returns to the starting team. Romanian-based scrumhalf Eugene Jantjies will start his second match of 2015 Rugby World Cup in place of Eneill Buitendag while Darryl de La Harpe replaces Johan Deysel at inside centre and David Philander is recalled at right wing, with Johan Tromp replacing him on the bench,” it said.
Davies said his selection was based on a strategy Namibia has been following since the team played Russia in Windhoek.
“Since we started in the summer we always had a 23-man match day strategy. We found this to be the most effective way of combining local and professional players. This is about picking a spine and managing game time during a Tier One competition to ensure that our 15 on the field at any time remain competitive,” said Davies.
The team that will go up against Georgia on Wednesday at Exeter is as follows:
15. Chrysander Botha, 14. David Philander, 13. Danie van Wyk, 12. Darryl de la Harpe, 11. Russell van Wyk, 10. Theuns Kotzè, 09. Eugene Jantjies, 08. Renaldo Bothma, 07. Tinus du Plessis, 06. Jacques Burger, 05. Tjiuee Uanive, 04. PJ van Lill, 03. Raoul Larson, 02. Torsten van Jaarsveld, 01. Johnnie Redelinghuys.
16. Louis van der Westhuizen, 17. Jaco Engels, 18. Johannes Coetzee, 19. Wian Conradie, 20. Rohan Kitshoff, 21. Heinrich Smit, 22. Damian Stevens, 23. Johan Tromp.