Pohamba Calls On Dc To Complete Task By June

23 May 2013 06:36

WINDHOEK, 18 JAN (NAMPA) - President Hifikepunye Pohamba has called on the Delimitation Commission to complete its work by the end of June this year to enable the Electoral Commission of Namibia (ECN) to compile a new voter?s roll.
The third Delimitation Commission was appointed by the President on 07 January this year and is chaired by Judge Alfred Siboleka of the High Court.
The other two members are Dr Zedekia Ngavirue, former chairperson of the National Council for Higher Education, and Dr John Steytler, Statistician General of Namibia.
Parliament appoints a Delimitation Commission which is tasked with redrawing regional and constituency boundaries for governance and electoral purposes at intervals of between six and 12 years.
The Head of State made the call at a meeting attended by members of the commission, as well as Government officials, at State House on Friday.
?Next year we are going to have the Presidential and National Assembly elections, and as such it is important that the commission completes its task on time,? the Head of State said.
Pohamba explained that in terms of Article 104 (1) of the Namibian Constitution, Parliament gave him the approval to appoint the commission towards the end of last year.
?I would thus like to thank our lawmakers for passing the appropriate resolution that enabled me to appoint the commission. I have no doubt that the commission will carry out its duties successfully,? the President stated.
Pohamba also appealed to the commission to do everything necessary in order to improve the living conditions of the Namibian people.
?The holidays have ended and we must all work hard and do our part to overcome the challenges facing our people and take our country to greater heights of social and economic development,? the Namibian leader noted.
The meeting was also attended by Minister of Presidential Affairs Albert Kawana and Permanent Secretary (PS) in the Ministry of Gender Equality and Child Welfare, Sirkka Ausiku, amongst other government officials.