CORRECTION: Ohangwena regional councillors renominate candidates

03 Oct 2015 15:50pm
CORRECTING SECOND LAST PARA TO READ Regional Council AND NOT Local Authority election

ONGWEDIVA, 03 OCT (NAMPA) – The Swapo primaries in the Ohangwena Region were last Sunday finalised and the party’s head office in Windhoek is also done with the vetting of nominated candidates.
Acting coordinator of the party in the region, Mandume Pohamba revealed this to Nampa in a telephonic interview on Thursday.
Pohamba, who is also the Ohangwena Regional Councillor for the Ondobe Constituency, said most of the regional councillors have been successfully re-elected as Swapo candidates to contest the upcoming Regional Council election, which will coincide with the Local Authority election on 27 November this year.
“We have only three councillors who have decided not to stand for re-election this time around, and they are Paulus Mwahanyekange of Okongo Constituency, Johannes Nakwafila of Epembe Constituency and Leonard Shimutwikeni of Ongenga Constituency,” Pohamba noted.
Nakwafila and Shimutwikeni are also members of the National Council (NC) representing the Ohangwena Regional Council, while Mwahanyekange is the chairperson of that council.
Pohamba said Mwahanyekange is to be replaced by Fanuel Ndadi, while Nakwafila will be succeeded by Philip Shikongo, and Sakaria Haimudi will be Shimutwikeni’s successor.
Ndadi and Haimudi are serving as Swapo district coordinators for the Okongo and Ongenge districts, respectively.
Shikongo is said to be a local teacher in the Epembe Constituency.
The councillors who retained their positions as party candidates for the upcoming Regional Council election are Pohamba; Nehemia Haufiku (Eenhana); Festus Ikanda (Omundaungilo); Jason Ndakunda (Engela); Johannes Hakanyome (Ohangwena); Erickson Ndawanifwa (Omulonga); and Ferdinand Shifidi (Endola).
Another teacher in the Oluwaya area, Lonia Shinana, has been vetted to contest the Regional Council election for the Swapo Party in the newly-created Oshikunde Constituency of the Ohangwena Region.
Shinana is the only woman candidate.