NCRST and TIA sign MoU

03 Oct 2015 12:00pm
WINDHOEK, 03 OCT (NAMPA) - The National Commission on Research, Science and Technology (NCRST) signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with the South African Technology Innovation Agency (TIA) here on Wednesday.
A media statement issued on the same day by the NCRST says the MoU aims at establishing a strategic partnership to enable support of research output into commercial products and services.
NCRST Chief Executive Officer (CEO), Dr Eino Mvula was quoted as saying the agreement will enable them to attain one of the five key strategic priorities in the National Programme for Research, Science, Technology and Innovation, focusing on innovation for the social and economic sector.
“Our emphasis here is placed on support services and resources for nurturing start-up science and technology enterprises with the goal of developing them into financially-viable businesses, equipped with tools for long-term survival growth,” said Mvula.
One of the five key strategic priorities of the National Programme for Research, Science, Technology and Innovation is disseminating science and technological knowledge by looking towards a growing involvement of institutions’ researchers, enterprises and the entire population.
The scope of the MoU covers a joint review of research projects for potential technology development support; facilitating joint workshops/seminars on commercialisation and Intellectual Property (IP) management; sharing experiences on the establishment of technology stations, start-ups and incubation services; and conducting training on technology management for Government institutions.
The NCRST is a State-owned enterprise established in terms of section four of the Research, Science and Technology Act, Act 23 of 2004 to provide for the coordination, development and promotion of research, science technology and innovation in Namibia, as well as providing funding to research, science technology and innovation.
TIA CEO, Barlow Manilal signed on behalf of the South African public entity that supports the State in stimulating and intensifying technological innovation by developing and utilising technological innovations.