RDP YL against Swapo using government facilities

18 Sep 2015 15:40pm
WINDHOEK, 18 SEP (NAMPA) - The Rally for Democracy and Progress (RDP) Youth League has condemned the use of Government facilities by the Swapo Party for party activities.
Swapo held a fundraising event at the Jan Möhr Secondary School sports field in Windhoek on 12 September 2015.
Speaking at a media conference here on Thursday, RDP Youth League (RDPYL) Secretary for Information and Publicity, Vistoh Sabisa said his party is not against any party holding activities to raise funds or promote their cause to the public. They are however opposed to biased Government policies such as the one imposed on the RDP in 2008, the youth league.
“We refer to the policies that were used against RDP in 2008, when the Ministry of Education blatantly and arrogantly cancelled the agreement RDP had with the Windhoek College of Education to host its first national convention there on 07 November 2008,” he said.
Sabisa said the ruling party has always had double standards when it comes to enabling Namibians to exercise their democratic rights by participating in the activities of a party of their choice other than Swapo.
He noted that such discrimination not only occurs in Windhoek, but throughout the country, “where RDP members who refuse to toe the Swapo line are denied the right to hold their political gatherings at public facilities”.
Sabisa stressed that this has been done through “the usual Swapo-style bureaucratic red tape tactics and intimidations”.
“We call upon President Hage Geingob's administration to openly clarify to the Namibian public and the RDP Youth League whether there are two sets of policies being applied in the Ministry of Education. One being to enable Swapo to have carte blanche at State facilities and the other that political parties are denied the right to fraternise with their members, sympathisers and the public at facilities they too pay taxes for,” he said.
Sabisa encouraged the government to stand on its call that no Namibian should be left out under Geingob's tenure.
The RDP YL also introduced its new National Executive Committee (NEC) members and leadership team elected during its Central Committee meeting held on 30 August 2015.
They are Secretary-General Marvin Janonga Veseevete deputised by Justine Ndeshipanda Itoolwa, and Sabisa as Secretary for Information and Publicity.
Other members are Telwin !Owoseb, who was elected as Secretary for Administration and Finance; Steven Kevanhu as Secretary for Organisation and Political Mobilisation; Jerome Kapurua Kahanga as Secretary for Agriculture and Food Security; Milten Tjihenda as Secretary for Health and Social Welfare; Dirck Kuzatjike as Secretary for Economic Affairs; Moses Hengobe as Secretary for International Relations; James Kristian as Secretary for Transport and Logistics; and Jacobina Nditya as Secretary for Culture, Art and Sport.
The RDP YL NEC consists of 21 members.