DTA unveils new Women's League

06 Sep 2015 15:40pm
WINDHOEK, 06 SEP (NAMPA) – Long-serving member of the DTA of Namibia, Rosa Mbinge Tjeundo has been re-elected to lead the party's women’s wing.
Tjeundo was re-elected as chairperson of the DTA Women’s League (DTAWL) during its two-day elective congress that ended here on Sunday.
She is being deputised by Anna-Marie Imelda Snyders.
In her acceptance speech, Tjeundo pledged to unite all the women within the rank and file of her party and re-energise and invigorate the DTWL as well as to help craft new forward-thinking strategic objectives and aims for the women's league.
She then strongly appealed to the Namibian Government that major priority be given to single mothers in respect of land redistribution, because the majority of these women are the sole breadwinners in their families.
The elective congress was attended by four delegates from each of the country's 14 political regions.
Loide Ipinge is secretary-general, and her deputy is Celeste Hochobes.
Ina Rosetha Gouws was elected secretary for information and publicity, while secretary for finance is Albertinah Ndjoze.
Sophia Basson was elected secretary for international relations and Mirjam Kambwale as secretary for gender equality and female empowerment.
Elsie Puuahe is secretary for education, and the secretary for labour is Irene Rietz.
The position of secretary for health and social welfare went to Melba Belinda Tjiurutue.
Mutakazona Anaster Kanyanso is the secretary for mobilisation.
Additional members of the DTAWL national executive committee are Martha Neumbo, Christina Isaaks and Maria Tjakase Ndjulu.
The newly elected members of the DTAWL will be in office for the next five years.