Shilongo, Shalulile still to join Warriors camp

31 Aug 2015 14:50pm
WINDHOEK, 31 AUG (NAMPA) – Brave Warriors midfielder Peter Shalulile and striker Benson Shilongo are the only players still missing from the final training squad currently in camp for the 2017 African Nations Cup (Afcon) qualifier.
The senior national football team will play Group K leader Senegal on Saturday at the Sam Nujoma Stadium in Windhoek.
Namibia lost its opening game of the group 0-1 to Niger in June, while Senegal beat Burundi 3-1 to lead the group.
Namibia is in Group K with Niger, Senegal and Burundi.
In a statement availed to Nampa by the Namibia Football Association (NFA) on Monday, coach Ricardo Mannetti revealed that Shalulile who plays for South African First Division, Highlands Park FC played a league game for his new club on Sunday and would only fly to Windhoek on Monday afternoon to join the team for the Tuesday morning training session at the Sam Nujoma Stadium.
“All the players that we called up have confirmed their arrival. Peter played on Sunday so we are expecting him here today and tomorrow he can train with us,” said Mannetti.
The statement added that another player missing from Monday’s training session was Shilongo, who plies his trade for Gaborone United of Botswana.
“Benson took a knock on the head over the weekend for his club and he had a big concussion. He however travelled to Windhoek as we wanted our medical team to assess him and by Wednesday we will make a decision on him. It will be a great loss at this stage if he is to be ruled out, but we will see how it goes,” Mannetti was quoted as saying in the statement.
The game against Senegal on Saturday kicks off at 14h30.
The Brave Warriors training squad for the Senegal match is:
Virgil Vries, Edward Maova, Maximillian Mbaeva, Chris Katjiukua, Willem Mwedihanga, Da Costa Angula, Tiberius Lombard, Gregory Aukumeb, Benyamin Nenkavu, Hendrick Somaeb, Denzil Haoseb, Ananias Gebhardt, Dynamo Fredericks, Willy Stephanus, Benson Shilongo, Wangu Gome, Deon Hotto, Peter Shalulile, Ronald Ketjijere, Heinrich Isaacks, Joslin Kamatuka, Petrus Shitembi and Absalom Iimbondi.