Mannetti announces final 23-men training squad for Senegal

28 Aug 2015 11:40am
WINDHOEK, 28 AUG (NAMPA) - Brave Warriors coach Ricardo Mannetti has named a 23-man squad for the crucial 2017 African Nations Cup (Afcon) qualifiers clash against Senegal.
The game will be played in Windhoek on 05 September. The 23 players will start training at the Sam Nujoma Stadium in Windhoek on Monday, before the final 18 players to face Senegal are announced on Wednesday.
Most of the foreign-based players will join the local players that have been at a High Performance Centre in Pretoria, South Africa.
Speaking to Nampa on Thursday, Mannetti said Free State Stars defender Da Costa Angula will be making a comeback to the squad after getting game time at his club this season.
“Goalkeeper Lloyd Kazapua, defender Dennis Ngueza and Thailand-based Sydney Urikhob are ruled out and have opened doors for the likes of Free State Stars man Hendrick Somaeb and Dynamo Fredericks of Black Africa, as well as Tigers’ Benyamin Nenkavu.
“I also thought it was necessary to call back Da Costa to the squad as we need experience in the team with Dennis ruled out team due to his back injury. I know we will have a strong team when we face Senegal and anything is possible,” said Mannetti.
He also added that Lazarus Kaimbi, who use to play in Thailand but is currently unattached, and his former Thailand-based colleague Tangeni Shipahu, have not been called up to the squad due to injuries, but are still part of his future plans.
A statement availed to Nampa by the Namibia Football Association (NFA) on Thursday stated that Tura Magic’s Neville Tjiueza and African Stars defender Ferdinand Karongee and striker Obry Amseb, as well as Orlando Pirates striker Terdius Uiseb failed to make it into the final 23-men squad.
Namibia is in Group K with Niger, Senegal and Burundi. Namibia lost its opening game of the group 0-1 against Niger.
They will now play Group K leader Senegal who beat Burundi 3-1 in their opening game of the campaign.
Brave Warriors 23-men squad are:
Virgil Vries, Edward Maova, Maximillian Mbaeva, Chris Katjiukua, Willem Mwedihanga, Da Costa Angula, Tiberius Lombard, Gregory Aukumeb, Benyamin Nenkavu, Hendrick Somaeb, Denzil Haoseb, Ananias Gebhardt, Dynamo Fredericks, Willy Stephanus, Benson Shilongo, Wangu Gome, Deon Hotto, Peter Shalulile, Ronald Ketjijere, Heinrich Isaacks, Joslin Kamatuka, Petrus Shitembi and Absalom Iimbondi.