Kitshoff captain Namibia against Zimbabwe

13 Aug 2015 13:30pm
WINDHOEK, 13 AUG (NAMPA) – Namibian international rugby player and loose-forward Rohan Kitshoff will captain Namibia against Zimbabwe on Saturday in the Windhoek Draught Africa Cup Final at the Hage Geingob Rugby Stadium.
This is the 15th edition of the Africa Cup, an annual international rugby union tournament for African nations organised by Rugby Africa.
Namibia are defending champions and have won the cup four times.
Kitshoff, who currently plays for Western Province Premier League club, Durbanville-Bellville in South Africa, will lead the side in the absence of Jacques Burger, who has returned to the United Kingdom to complete administrative matters with his English club, Saracens.
Burger will join the Namibian squad in Durban later this month for a training camp with the Springboks.
A media statement availed to Nampa on Thursday by the Namibian Rugby Union (NRU) said the inclusion of Kitshoff is one of 10 changes to the starting line-up from the side that defeated Kenya 46-13 in Windhoek last week.
Five players who started the match against Kenya - hooker Torsten van Jaarsveld; locks Tjiuee Uanive and Janco Venter; as well as flyhalf Theuns Kotzè and fullback Chrysander Botha - will run on against the Zimbabweans.
Prop Johannes Coetzee and loose-forward Renaldo Bothma, who came off the bench last Saturday, have been promoted to the starting line-up.
The statement quotes head coach Phil Davies as saying the rationale behind the changes was to try and keep consistency.
“We always look at the spine of the team. It was also about making sure we pick a team that could win the game. It is also in line with our 23-man or in this case, 22-man strategy, selecting a team that could give us a full high intensity 80 minutes’ performance,” he said.
The Namibian team to play Zimbabwe in the Windhoek Draught African Cup match on Saturday is:
1. Casper Viviers; 2. Torsten van Jaarsveld; 3. Johannes Coetzee; 4. Tjiuee Uanive; 5. Janco Venter; 6. Rohan Kitshoff (Capt); 7. Tinus du Plessis; 8. Renaldo Bothma; 9. Arthur Bouwer; 10. Theuns Kotzè; 11. Russell van Wyk; 12. Johan Deysel; 13. JC Greyling; 14. Danie Dames; 15. Chrysander Botha
Replacements :
16. Rathony Becker; 17. Johnnie Redelinghuys, 18. Raoul Larson; 19. Thomasaus Forbes; 20. PJ van Lill; 21. Eneill Buitendag; 22. Johan Tromp.