Stevens and Conradie to debut against Kenya

06 Aug 2015 10:30am
WINDHOEK, 06 AUG (NAMPA) - Former Namibian Under-20 rugby players, scrumhalf Damien Stevens and loose-forward Wian Conradie, will make their senior debuts against Kenya on Saturday.
Namibia will face Kenya in an Africa Cup match at the Hage Geingob Stadium on Saturday at 15h00.
A statement availed to Nampa on Wednesday by the Namibia Rugby Union (NRU) noted that the pair, who did duty for Namibia at the International Rugby Board (IRB) Junior Trophy Tournament in Hong Kong last year, are the only new caps that will be added to the 22 names that head coach Phil Davies has named for Saturday.
Walvis Bay-born Stevens has been knocking hard on the door for senior honours after an outstanding season for the University of Western Cape in South Africa’s Varsity Shield Competition.
Coach Davies was quoted in the statement as saying Stevens is an exciting young talent and has a great future in front of him in the Namibian jersey.
“He has an exceptional pass and is very quick around the field with an effective kicking game,” he said.
Meanwhile, the coach added that Conradie excelled for the University of Johannesburg in the Varsity Cup Competition and was rewarded with a call-up to the senior side where he will do duty on the side of the scrum.
“We are really excited about his pace and power around the field. He is a fearsome defender,” he said.
Saturday’s match will be Namibia’s eighth meeting with Kenya.
Namibia has won six of the eight clashes.
The last time the two sides met was in the Rugby World Cup qualifiers in Madagascar.
Namibia lost the game 22-29 during the Confederation of African Rugby (CAR) tournament, which was held in Madagascar last year July.
The Namibia squad to play Kenya on Saturday is:
1. Jaco Engels
2. Torsten van Jaarsveld
3. AJ de Klerk
4. Tjiuee Uanivi
5. Janco Venter
6. Jacques Burger (Capt)
7. Wian Conradie
8. Leneve Damens
9. Damien Stevens
10. Theuns Kotzè
11.Conrad Marais
12.Darryl de la Harpe
13.Heinrich Smit
14. David Philander
15.Chrysander Botha

16. DG Wiese
17. Johannes Coetzee
18. Johnnie Redelinghuys
19. Renaldo Bothma
20. PJ van Lill
21. Eugene Jantjies
22. Johan Tromp