Otjiwarongo Nalawu executive committee elected

18 Jul 2015 16:20pm
OTJIWARONGO, 18 JUL (NAMPA) – The executive committee members for Otjiwarongo’s Namibia Local Authority Workers’ Union (Nalawu) were officially elected and announced here on Saturday.
The members were elected at the Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the trade union.
Nalawu was founded in 2013 in Tsumeb in the Oshikoto Region as a trade union that represents all local authority workers in the country.
The union has its headquarters in the capital.
Acting General-Secretary of Nalawu, Chris Katjitundu told Nampa in an interview on Saturday that his union was established with a purpose of building a democratic local authority workers’ controlled organisation.
He said Nalawu was also established with the aim of striving to develop a strong shop-steward movement for all local authority workers who wish to become members countrywide.
Katjitundu said the union will ultimately strive to protect and advance demands of the local authority workers during their wage negotiations, and strife for improved working conditions at their different workplaces.
Katjitundu also announced names of the newly elected Otjiwarongo’s executive committee members for the union.
He said Cornelius Tjivahe was elected as the chairperson for the Otjiwarongo branch, and John Hinda as his deputy.
Miriam Gomes was elected Otjiwarongo branch secretary, Sam Tuaanda as treasurer and branch organiser is Marvin Kambandu.
Katjitundu declared the election to have been conducted in a free and fair manner.
Nalawu Acting President, Dicks Kaetjavi witnessed the election of the Otjiwarongo branch executive committee members.