Namibia Paralympic Committee to tour Namibian towns

07 Jul 2015 11:50am
WINDHOEK, 07 JUL (NAMPA) – The Namibia Paralympic Committee (NPC) is embarking on an athletes promotional tour in three Namibian towns from the month of July.
Seven athletes who qualified for the 2015 Doha Games will form part of the tour.
The aim of the promotional tour is to sensitise and educate the Namibian nation about para-athletes and what it takes to be one.
Doha will stage the last major gathering of international top athletes before the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games.
The 2015 International Paralympic Committee (IPC) Athletics World Championships is expected to attract around 1 300 of the world’s best athletes from 90 countries and will take place from October to November 2015.
Speaking at a media conference held by the NPC here on Monday, NPC Secretary General (SG), Michael Hamukwaya called on corporate companies and the public to come to the events that will be held in the different towns and meet the athletes who will fly the Namibian flag high at the world championships.
“We want the Namibian nation to be sensitised on what para-athletes are all about. In most cases, people only read about these athletes in papers or hear on the radio but they don't understand what it takes to be a disabled athlete.
“We are now embarking on a promotional campaign to take these athletes to schools, shopping malls and allow them to speak to the people on what they go through on a daily basis as a disabled athlete, plus we want to allow the corporate world to understand what disabled athletes go through if they are to sponsor them,” said Hamukwaya.
The towns that athletes will be visiting during their promotional campaign are Walvis Bay, Oshakati and Windhoek.
Walvis Bay has been confirmed as the first town that the athletes will visit from 09 to 12 July.
Dates for Windhoek and Oshakati will be confirmed later this month.
Athletes who have qualified for the 2015 Doha Games are Lahja Ishitile, Johannes Nambala, Elias Ndimulunde, Rosa Manjoro, Ananias Shikongo, Johanna Benson and Martin Aloysius.