Kambueshe victorious in Swakopmund by-election

30 May 2015 12:30pm
SWAKOPMUND, 30 MAY (NAMPA) – Swakopmund Mayor Juuso Kambueshe won the Swakopmund Constituency by-election here on Friday.
The Electoral Commission of Namibia (ECN)’s returning officer for the Swakopmund Constituency by-election, Johannes Kashindinge Nghipuilepo announced the results at the end of the votes’ counting process Friday evening.
Kambueshe, from the Swapo-Party, garnered 2 621 votes out of the 4 238 votes cast.
The DTA of Namibia, represented by Christa Magrietha Hochobes, got 762 votes.
The United Democratic Front (UDF)’s Marius !Uwu-Gaeb received 497.
The National Unity Democratic Organisations (Nudo)’s Uahimisa Kaapehi received the least votes of 358.
The Electoral Commission of Namibia (ECN) Director of Elections, Prof Paul Isaak who witnessed the announcement of the results, described the by-election as peaceful, free and fair.
He thanked all participating political parties and the community for ensuring peace during the election process.
“We thank you all for a mature political environment that allowed us to exercise our voting rights,” said the director.
Kambueshe will now have to give up his title as mayor to allow him to represent the Erongo Region in the National Council, a position previously held by late Swapo-Party councillor Germina Shitaleni.
Meanwhile, the Regional and Local Authority elections will take place towards the end of this year.