ECN receives Swapo's nomination for by-election

28 May 2015 08:00am
OTJIWARONGO, 28 MAY (NAMPA) – The Electoral Commission of Namibia (ECN) on Wednesday confirmed receipt of Swapo’s nomination in the Otjiwarongo by-election set for 09 July this year.
“So far it is only the Swapo-Party that has submitted the name of its candidate expected to participate in the Otjiwarongo by-election,” said ECN Returning Officer Sedekias Eiseb.
The Otjozondjupa regional Swapo-Party office nominated Julius Neumbo as its sole candidate for the by-election.
No other political party had approached the ECN offices here with a nomination. The closing date is Friday this week.
The Otjiwarongo by-election was necessitated by the appointment of former Otjiwarongo Constituency regional councillor, Otto Ipinge as Otjozondjupa regional governor in April this year.
He replaced Samuel Nuuyoma as governor.
The 61-year-old Neumbo is the former principal of the Karundu Primary School, and a deputy chairperson of the Otjiwarongo Town Council’s management committee.
He is also the party’s treasurer for the Otjozondjupa Region.
The party’s coordinator for the region, Susan Hikopua on Wednesday said Swapo will launch its campaign for Neumbo’s election soon.
“We have registered him with the ECN today as our sole candidate in the Otjiwarongo by-election and our official mass political campaign launch is set to start on 06 June 2015 here in Otjiwarongo,” she said.
Hikopua told this news agency earlier that Neumbo received the majority of votes at a district conference held at the Otjiwarongo regional Swapo office on Monday afternoon.
Three candidates – Neumbo, Lukas Hifitikeko and Marlay Sharlay Mbakera - contested the internal election.
Neumbo obtained 48 votes; while Hifitikeko received four. Mbakera withdrew her candidature shortly before the election.
Two ballot papers were spoiled.
Hikopua supervised the voting and counting of ballot papers in the presence of Swapo vice-chairperson of the national leaders assigned to the region, Professor Peter Katjavivi.