Keimuine replaces Botes in Cosafa Cup squad

14 May 2015 20:50pm
WINDHOEK, 14 MAY (NAMPA) - Tura Magic striker Itamunua Keimuine has been called up to the national team, which is finalising its preparations for the 2015 Council of Southern Africa Football Associations (COSAFA) Cup.
He replaces veteran striker Henrico Botes, who was not released by his South African club Bidvest Wits.
The club has indicated that the tournament does not take place on Federation of International Football Association (FIFA) dates, and they therefore are not obligated to release Botes.
A media statement issued by the Namibia Football Association (NFA) on Wednesday announced Keimuine’s inclusion in the team.
He was flown to Johannesburg earlier this week to join the rest of the team for the training camp at the Pretoria High Performance Centre.
The Cosafa Cup starts in South Africa’s North-West Province on Saturday.
Meanwhile, nine more players will join the Brave Warriors in Johannesburg on Friday before the team departs for Moruleng in South Africa's North West Province for their first game against the Seychelles on Saturday at 15h00.
The statement further indicated that Orlando Pirates goalkeeper Charles Uirab and defender Brain Gurirab will make the trip, as will Tigers defender Benjamin Nenkavu.
The Black Africa trio of Dynamo Fredericks, Willy Stephanus and Heinrich Isaacks; as well as Tura Magic’s defensive pair of Tiberius Lombard and Charles Hambira and African Stars defender Ferdinand Karongee have also been called up.
These players, along with Keimuine, are the 10 players chosen by Mannetti as back-up to the 20-man squad he announced last week for the Cosafa Cup.
Benson Shilongo is also still expected to join the team after his last Botswana Premier league game on Saturday afternoon.
The Gaborone United player recently led his side to a Top 8 victory.
The Brave Warriors Cosafa Cup team consists of goalkeepers Virgil Vries and Maximillian Mbaeva; defenders Willem Mwedihanga, Chris Katjiukua, Denzil Hoaseb, Ananias Gebhardt, Gregory Aukumeb, and Dennis Ngueza Tjetinda; midfielders Neville Tjiueza, Hendrik Somaeb, Peter Shalulile, Ronald Ketjijere (C), Wangu Batista, Joslin Kamatuka, Petrus Shitembi, and Deon Hotto; and strikers: Nicky Musambani, Itamunua Keimuine Sadney Urikhob and Benson Shilongo.

Namibia's Cosafa Cup Fixtures are as follows:
17 May - Namibia vs Seychelles 15h00 Moruleng
19 May - Namibia vs Mauritius 19h30 Moruleng
21 May - Namibia vs Zimbabwe 17h00 Moruleng.