RDP not interested in Swakop by-election

21 Apr 2015 09:20am
SWAKOPMUND, 21 APR (NAMPA) – The Rally for Democracy and Progress (RDP) will not participate in the Swakopmund Constituency by-election slated for 29 May 2015.
A media statement issued on Monday by RDP Deputy Secretary for the Erongo Region, Monika von Wiedersheim, indicates that they would rather participate in the Regional Council and Local Authority elections expected towards the end of this year.
“We are of the opinion that the time frame in which the victorious candidate for the 29 May by-election will occupy this position is too short (a mere six months), as there shall be elections conducted towards the end of 2015 for regional and local government.
'We therefore wish to focus all efforts and resources for the said elections,” reads the statement.
The party, however, urged all members, supporters and sympathisers to support opposition parties who will take part in the by-election.
The contesting parties are Swapo, DTA of Namibia, the United Democratic Front (UDF) and the National Unity Democratic Organisation (NUDO).
The candidates are Swakopmund mayor Juuso Kambueshe for Swapo, NUDO’s acting Erongo coordinator Uahimisa Kaapehi, Christa Magrietha Hochobes for the DTA, and UDF’s secretary for the Swakopmund branch, Marius !Uwu-Gaeb.
The supplementary registration of voters that ended last month in Swakopmund registered 232 voters, bringing the number to about 29 000 registered voters in the Swakopmund Constituency.
The by-election was necessitated by the death of councillor Germina Shitaleni earlier this year. Shitaleni served as Swapo Regional Councillor for the Swakopmund Constituency.