Katjavivi Steps Into Giant Speaker of the National Assembly

20 Mar 2015 10:40am
WINDHOEK, 20 MAR (NAMPA) – Professor Peter Katjavivi took up the position as Speaker of the National Assembly on Friday after the swearing-in ceremony of 104 Members of Parliament.
In his acceptance speech delivered in Parliament, Katjavivi commended President-elect Hage Geingob for his confidence and outgoing President Hifikepunye Pohamba for his support.
He also applauded outgoing Speaker of the National Assembly Theo-Ben Gurirab for a job well done.
“I acknowledge with appreciation the handing over whereby the outgoing Speaker of the National Assembly Theo-Ben Gurirab who handed over the Ceremonial Mace, which is one of the major Symbols of Authority of the Parliament. I am conscious of the fact that I am stepping into the shoes of a giant who has made an immense contribution to our country and is a well-known personality at home and abroad,” he stated.
Gurirab too was successor of another equally well-versed giant in parliamentary affairs: the late Mose Tjitendero who was the very first speaker of the National Assembly from 1990 to 2005.
Katjavivi called on Parliament for support in discharging common duties in the best interest of the nation and the Namibian people. He also wished the incoming President Geingob strength and wisdom.
“We admire his tenacity and the vision that he has expounded in recent weeks, and I look forward to working with him. This is a time of excitement and hope, and this House, together with the other organs of the State, can work to implement the President’s agenda,” Katjavivi added.
Namibia on Friday swore in the sixth Parliament since independence in 1990. Spirit is high and the nation is geared towards the Silver Jubilee Celebrations at Independence Stadium on Saturday 21 March 2015, where the president-elect and prime minister-elect are to be sworn in at the country’s celebration of 25 years of independence.