Namibian to mark Silver Jubilee in style

19 Mar 2015 13:50pm
WINDHOEK, 19 MAR (NAMPA) – Namibia's Silver Jubilee Independence on Saturday at the Independence Stadium promises to be memorable and bigger in every aspect, compared to previous celebrations.
The inauguration of the third president of the Republic of Namibia, Dr Hage Geingob will also take place on the same day.
Gates will open for the public at 06H00. Buses will be available from various pick-up points in the capital to transport the public to the venue.
Presidents and government leaders from all over the world were invited to witness the prestigious occasion.
Among others, the Secretary-General of the United Nations (UN) Ban Ki-Moon, Chairperson of the African Union Commission Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma.
Algerian president Abdelaziz Bouteflika, Ethiopian head of state Mulatu Teshome Wirtu, and Equatorial Guinea Teodoro Obiang Nguema will also witness the occasion as invited guests.
Other presidents expected on the day are Sierra Leone's Ernest Bai Koroma, Liberia's Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, and Omar Hassan Al-Bashir of Sudan.
Countries such as the United States of America (USA), Britain as well as Finland also confirmed their attendance.
Presidents or government officials from Angola, Botswana, Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Seychelles, South Africa, Swaziland, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe will also grace their presence, according to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.
Former deputy prime minister Libertine Amathila and Ambassador Kaire Mbuende will be the directors of ceremonies on the day.
The lightning of the torch of liberty will be done before the Father of the Nation Sam Nujoma and his spouse Kavambo Nujoma, president-elect Hage Geingob and his spouse Monica Geingos, and outgoing President and Commander-in-Chief of the Namibian Defence Force (NDF) Hifikepunye Pohamba and spouse Penehupifo Pohamba arrive.
The celebrations will kick off with a 21-gun salute.
Bishop Zephania Kameeta will open the ceremony with a prayer and scripture reading before Pohamba delivers his statement.
Pohamba will then issue the conferment of the highest national order of the ‘Welwitschia Mirabilis’ to the new president Geingob and handing over the symbols of power such as the national flag, Constitution of the Republic of Namibia and national seal to the Chief Justice, Peter Shivute.
The swearing ceremony will follow shortly there-after, as well as the oath-taking before Shivute presents the symbols of power to Geingob.
The exchange of seats between out-going President Pohamba and in-coming President Geingob will follow, before the swearing in of the Vice President Nickey Iyambo, Prime Minister Saara Kuugongelwa-Amadhila, and Deputy Prime Minster Netumbo Nandi-Ndaitwah.
The incoming-president and Commander-in-Chief of the Namibian Defence Force (NDF) will then deliver his speech before he proceeds to the Dias.
The singing of the African Union (AU) and national anthems will be done concurrently with a 21-gun salute.
A parade will march off concurrently with the fly past of air force planes before the dignitaries depart. Athletics from South Africa, Botswana will participate in 100 meters, 200 meters, 400 meters, and 800 meters, while Paralympic athletes will also entertain the guests.
A women football match between Namibia’s Brave Gladiators and Swaziland’s Sihlangu Semnikati (King's Shield) is slated for 16h00.
The ceremony ends with firework display at 20H00 while local artists provide entertainment to round-off the silver jubilee festivities.