Hedwig Mandean returns to Walvis council chambers

18 Mar 2015 15:40pm
WALVIS BAY, 18 MAR (NAMPA) – Councillor Hedwig Mandean on Tuesday returned as an ordinary council member of the Walvis Bay municipality.
Mandean, who was sworn in by Magistrate Vicky Nicolaidis in the council chambers Tuesday evening, was a member of Walvis Bay Municipality management from 2004 to 2010.
She returned to fill the position previously occupied by the late councillor Kaino Andre, who died in December 2014.
Mandean is representing the Swapo-Party together with seven other councillors.
Other Swapo councillors are town Mayor Uilika Nambahu, Benson Uakumbua as Deputy Mayor, Immanuel Wilfred as Management Committee (MC) chairperson, management committee member Tony Raw as well as ordinary members Paulus Kauhondamwa and Johanna Markus.
Alternative member Derek Klazen will be part of the next Parliament after the recent National Assembly elections, which saw the Swapo-Party win 77 seats.
Representing the opposition parties is Joseph Shikongo from the Rally for Democracy and Progress (RDP) and Gibson Romeo Goseb for the United Democratic Front (UDF).