Chaos reported during NANSO congress

02 Mar 2015 06:40am
WINDHOEK, 02 MAR (NAMPA)- Although the Namibia National Students Organisation (NANSO) experienced chaos and intimidation during its elective congress held over the weekend, the student body managed to have a free and fair election.
This is the view of the new President of NANSO, Wilhelm Wilhelm in his address to the media at the end of NANSO's congress in the capital on Sunday.
Wilhelm, who could not share details on what transpired during the congress admitted that there were differences which resulted into chaos, intimidation and interruptions from what he described as “external forces,” before the election proceedings.
He said such issues were however resolved and the congress held a free and fair peaceful election.
“From here we are going to consult on our next step on what to do. Let the dust settle, but we will do investigations and discuss who should be held accountable,” he said.
Over 200 delegates from the 13 regions of the country attended the congress and 171 delegates casted their votes.
Wilhelm told the media that the new leadership will revive NANSO and give it a new identity which will respond to the needs of the students by firstly moving from the offices of the National Youth Council into classrooms countrywide.
He made it clear that the student body will not de-affiliate from the NYC, but NANSO will be visible in all 14 regions of the country.
The NANSO president urged students to stand and work together, promising that the new leadership will work out a new funding formula for loans and address the issue vigorously.
Wilhelm is deputised by Stanley Kavetu and Secretary General (SG) Ndimbulukeni Nauyoma is deputised by Sinead Cloete.
The Secretary for Finance and Economic Affairs is Herman Rutz, Secretary for Information and Communication Technology (ICT) is Vincent Shimutwikeni, Secretary for Education and Research is Ashwell Forbes and the Secretary for Basic Education is Emma Theofulus.
The Secretary for Gender is Ester Simon, with two additional members Irene Alfeus and Antonius Iipinge.