Alina Armas dominates Rössing Marathon

15 Feb 2015 12:00pm
SWAKOPMUND, 15 FEB (NAMPA) – Reonard Nampala, representing the Namibia Defence Force (NDF), is the new champion for the Rössing Marathon National Championship 2015.
Nampala won in 2:19:57 outside of Luketz Swartbooi’s record of 2.11.23.
“I have participated in the Rössing Marathon a number of times before, but this is my first win in the event. As usual, it was a tough race. But I am glad to finally be the national champion,” he said in a media statement issued on Friday by Rössing Uranium’s Corporate Communication Adviser,
Botha Ellis.
Nampala was also more than six minutes faster than last year’s winner, Mynhardt Kauanivi, from the Namibian Police Force (NamPol) whose victory time is 2:25:14.
The event took place on Valentines Day at the coastal town of Swakopmund in a misty Saturday weather.
In the Ladies Open Marathon category, it was the formidable Alina Armas, who dominated the category for the third time in a row this year.
She came first in 2:40:09, which is better than her time of 2:48:58 last year.
Armas was followed by Ottilie Aimwata with a time of 2:57:27 and Julia Jansen van Vuuren in 3:19:25.
The NDF team continued their dominance over the last couple of years at the marathon with both the second and third places in the Men’s Open category also going their way this year.
Aron Tjivambi and Elifas Shuuya came second and third in 2:24:53 and 2:41:23 respectively.
In the 10 killometers run, it was NamPol’s Reinhold Tomas who took the crown for the men in a time of 0:30:50.
Tomas was followed by Simon Shipingana of NDF in 0:30:59 and Uveni Kuugongelwa, another NDF athlete, coming third in 0:31:04.
Anna Amutoko of the NDF was the female champion over this 10 kilometers run in 0:33:58, followed by Beata Naigambo of NamPol in 0:33:59 and Helena Iipinge of the NDF in 0:37:55
This year, the annual Rössing event drew over 300 entries in all categories.