23 Jan 2015 09:30am
MABOKGWANE AND MATHOHO START FOR SA Bafana Bafana coach Shakes Mashaba has made two changes to the starting XI against Senegal in their second match of the Africa Cup of Nations (Afcon) tournament in Mongomo, Equatorial Guinea, on Friday. Jackson Mabokgwane starts in goals in place of Darren Keet, who played in the 3-1 loss against Algeria in the opening match. The back four consists of Anele Ngcongca at right-back, Thabo Matlaba at left-back and the central defence pairing of Eric Mathoho and Thulani Hlatshwayo. Mathoho returns after a one-match suspension following two yellow cards in the qualifying stages of the tournament. He takes the place of Rivaldo Coetzee, stretchered off with a knee injury in the match against Algeria. Mathoho and Mabokgwane will be playing in their first Afcon tournament. The midfield remains unchanged with Dean Furman, Andile Jali, Oupa Manyisa and Thuso Phala, who scored South Africa's only goal in the opening match. Furman will once again captain the side. Tokelo Rantie and Sibusiso Vilakazi also retain their places upfront. South Africa: Jackson Mabokgwane (goalkeeper), Anele Ngcongca, Thabo Matlaba, Thulani Hlatshwayo, Eric Mathoho, Dean Furman (captain), Andile Jali, Oupa Manyisa, Thuso Phala, Sibusiso Vilakazi, Tokelo Rantie Substitutes: Darren Keet, Brilliant Khuzwayo, Ayanda Gcaba, Thamsanqa Sangweni, Themba Zwane, Reneilwe Letsholonyane, Mandla Masango, Bongani Zungu, Bernard Parker, Siyabonga Nhlapho, Bongani Ndulula Sapa /jlb