22 Jan 2015 21:00pm
HOFFMAN AND MATTHEE SHINE AT AFRICAN TRACK CHAMPS Nolan Hoffman and Maroesjka Matthee made their mark at the Confederation of African Cycling (CAC) Continental Track Championships in Pietermaritzburg. Matthee, after winning gold in the 10km scratch on Wednesday, looks a good bet to add gold in the elite women's 3 000 metres individual pursuit. She finished almost seven seconds faster than Ilze Bole who was second in the morning heats on Thursday. Matthee was happy with her win in the scratch. She thought halfway through the event that the race would come down to a bunch sprint. She decided to break away leaving Western Province's Elfriede Wolfaardt and fellow South African national Bole behind to give her a convincing win. "In the sprint, I was confident that I was faster than Elfriede and Ilze, so I took the sprint from quite far out to use the wind to my advantage. I was pretty happy with how the race panned out," Matthee said. Men's scratch champion Hoffman said his victory was far from a solo effort. "We started with three guys in the national team and we did a really good job to secure the win. The guys committed themselves to riding for me and I'm super-stoked to pull off a victory," Hoffman said. Para-cycling star Roxy Burns was satisfied and a little relieved after a strong ride in the time trial. "It was very good. I got my qualifying time for Worlds, so it all depends on selection. I thought it went well," she said. The South African riders dominated the time trial in the elite men's category. Eugene Soule of Western Province edged out Jean Smith of the South African national team to win and he also won his heat against Steven van Heerden in 1:08.58. Smith came up against Tunisia's Ali Nousri and came within a whisker of Soule's time but had to be content with a time of 1:08.97. Matthew de Freitas picked up the final spot on the podium, finishing only 14th hundredths of a second behind his national teammate. In other medal events, Juan Odendaal, who played second fiddle to Craig Ridgard in the 3 000 metres individual pursuit, turned the tables on his teammate to capture gold in men's C1-C3 1km time trial in 1:24.36. Dane John Wilson claimed the men's C4-C5 1km time trial title in a time of 1:13.99. Sapa /mvds