22 Jan 2015 18:00pm
ROAD SQUAD FOR AFRICAN CONTINENTAL CHAMPIONSHIPS The provisional road cycling squad that will take part in the 2015 Confederation of African Cycling Road Cycling Championships was announced by Cycling South Africa on Thursday. The championships will take place in Wartburg, KwaZulu-Natal, from February 9 to 14. The final team will be announced at the SA National Road, Time Trial and Para-cycling Championships from February 3 to 8. Only eight of the ten Elite men and U23 squad members will be selected to compete with four of the six junior men. Four of the six Elite Women and junior women will be selected to compete. Cycling South Africa's goal is to qualify as the number one team on the continent and to have enough UCI points to send a strong team to the 2016 Rio Olympics. The national road team for the African Continental Road Championships is: Elite and U23 Men Louis Meintjes Jacques Janse van Rensburg Jay Thomson Reinhardt Janse van Rensburg Jayde Julius Kevin Patten Willie Smith Clint Hendricks Dylan Girdlestone JC Nel Elite Women Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio Lise Olivier Heidi Dalton Anriette Schoeman An-Li Kachelhoffer Junior Men Jarrod Hatting Waylin Young Kyle de Wet Enno Swanepoel Gregory de Vink John Vlok Junior Women Ame Venter Frances du Toit Amy Williams Jessica Brown Sabrina van Wyk Lynette Benson. Sapa /mvds