Nam loses to Nepal in World Cricket Cup

21 Jan 2015 18:50pm
WINDHOEK, 21 JAN (NAMPA) – Cricket Namibia suffered its first defeat in the Pepsi International Cricket Council (ICC) World Cricket League (WCL) Division 2 tournament underway in the capital.
Namibia lost to Nepal by three wickets with 73 balls remaining on Wednesday.
The Eagles, as the Namibians are also known, could only score 142 runs, losing all their wickets in 49 overs, while Nepal scored 146 runs, losing seven wickets in 37 overs.
Speaking to Nampa after their victory, Nepal's captain Paras Khadka said Namibia executed their game plans very well so far, but he is glad they played them well and ended up victorious.
Nepal has thus far only lost one match to Uganda in which they could score only 144 runs in 50 overs, while Uganda scored 146 with one ball remaining.
On his part, Namibian captain Nicolaas Scholtz said they will go back to the basics and face Canada positively on Friday.
“I cannot blame anyone for losing the game; we gave them easy chances but we have tomorrow to prepare for Canada,” he said.
Namibia won by 188 runs against the Netherlands here on Tuesday, making it three wins thus far in the competition which started on Saturday.
Namibia beat Kenya in their first clash by five wickets with 64 balls remaining on Saturday, and defeated Ghana by four wickets with 22 balls remaining on Sunday.
In other games played on Wednesday, Canada won by 111 runs against Uganda, while the Netherlands won by five wickets against Kenya.
The Netherlands will take on Uganda at the Wanderers field on Friday, while Namibia will face Canada at the United Sports field. Nepal will take on Kenya at the Wanderers Affies field.
The final is set for Saturday between the first and second-placed teams on the log standing.
The top two teams will be promoted to WCL Division 1, where they will join Ireland, Scotland, Afghanistan, United Arab Emirates, Hong Kong and Papua New Guinea.
The top two teams will further receive a financial boost for their efforts, and will also be allowed to participate in the ICC Intercontinental Cup and the ICC World League Championships which will run from 2015 to 2017.