Muinjo leaves for AFCON

06 Jan 2015 14:10pm
WINDHOEK, 06 JAN (NAMPA)- Former Namibia Football Association (NFA) President, John Muinjo, has left the country on Tuesday for Bata, Equatorial Guinea ahead of the 30th Orange African cup of Nations.
A media statement issued by NFA stated that Muinjo is going to take up his reign as the referees instructors for the tournament, scheduled to take place in that country from January 17 to February 08, 2015.
The statement indicated that he is expected to be there on time for the Instructors refresher course to be held on Friday, 09 January 2015.
“Before a big tournament like this one, referees goes through some intensive training sessions which includes appropriate match handling aspect and others,” said Muinjo as qouted in the statement.
According to the statement, all the course activities will be done practically and theoretically to ensure a memorable 2015 AFCON tournament with little or no controversial officiating decisions.
Muinjo said he was excited to be involved in the game despite quitting as NFA President last year.
“Football is my game and I’m very glad to be involved in the game. I will continue to render my expertise to the game and to help where I will be needed,” read the statement.
Muinjo led the NFA for nine years since 2006, before passing on the touch to Frans Mbidi on December, 06, 2014.
The Confederation of African Football (CAF) have selected 44 referees for the final tournament with no Namibian referee on the panel.
The following are the list of referees and assistant referees from different countries:
Referees: Mehdi Abid Charef (ALG), Ali Lemghaifry (MRT), Bakary Papa Gassama (GAM), Bernard Camille (SEY), Bouchaib El Ahrach (MAR), Doue Noumandiez Desire (CIV), Janny Sikazwe (ZAM), Joseph Odartei Lamptey (GHA), Aboubacar Mario Bangoura (GUI), Ghead Zaglol Grisha (EGY), Med Said Kordi (TUN), Eric Arnaud Otogo Castane (GAB), Bamlak Tessema Weyesa (ETH), Hamada El Moussa Nampiandraza (MAD), Juste Ephrem Zio (BFA), Neant Alioum (CMR), Koman Coulibaly (MLI), Maguette Ndiaye (SEN), Malang Diedhiou (SEN), Rajindraparsad Seechur (MRI) and Victor Miguel de Freitas Gomez (RSA).

Assistant referees: Abdelhak Etchiali (ALG), Aboubacar Doumbouya (GUI), Angesom Ogbamariam W. (ERT), Anouar Hmila (TUN),Maurice Balkrishna Bootun (MRI) Djibril Camara (SEN), El Fadil Mohamed Hussein (SUD), El Hadji Malick Samba (SEN),Evarist MENKOUANDE (CMR), Hassan Egueh Yacin (DJI), Jean Claude Birumushahu (BUR), Jerson Emiliano Dos Santos (ANG), Malik Alidu Salifu (GHA),Marwa Range (KEN), Oamogetse Godisamang (BOT), Peter Elgam Ediba (NGR), Redouane Achik (MOR), Songuifolo Yeo (CIV), Tahssen Abo El Sadat Bedyer (EGY), Theogene Ndagijimana (RWA),Waleed Ahmed Ali (SUD),Yahaya Mahamadou (NIG), Zakhele Thusi Siwela (RSA).