Mugabe's Cabinet to be sworn-in today

December 12, 2014, 12:28pm

Mugabe's Cabinet to be sworn-in today


HARARE - Zimbabwe's President Robert Mugabe last night revealed his new cabinet, following a turbulent purge in the ruling party that saw the vice president and eight ministers fired.

The announcement of the new make-up of the cabinet on state television follows the nomination of Emmerson Mnangagwa, a lawyer and senior official since independence in 1980, as deputy president.

Chief secretary to President and Cabinet Misheck Sibanda said Mnangagwa remains the justice minister, while second vice president Phelekezela Mphoko, like his predecessor, would  focus on national healing, peace and reconciliation.

The cabinet that will be sworn-in today at State House replaces the large part of an authority established to lead Zimbabwe after disputed presidential elections in July last year that were expected to restore democratic order and unlock billions of dollars in foreign aid.

The economy has markedly worsened a year and half after Mugabe was re-elected, and the latest shuffle has nothing to do with addressing the deepening economic problems but managing internal Zanu PF politics and dynamics, analysts say.

Mugabe promoted Supa Mandiwanzira to a full ICT ministry, and did not replace the Women's minister amid swirling speculation that his wife Grace could snap up the post.

Former deputy foreign affairs minister Chris Mutsvangwa was rewarded with a ministerial post responsible for welfare services for war veterans, war collaborators and ex-detainees after leading attacks against ousted Vice President Joice Mujuru.

Demoted Simon Khaya-Moyo is the new minister of economic planning.

Find below a full list of the ministers and their portfolios


Name and Portfolio

E Mnangagwa: Vice President

P Mphoko: Vice President

P Mupfumira: Minister of Public Service, Labour and Social Services

O Muchinguri: Minister of Higher and Tertiary Education, Science and Technology Development

S Udenge: Minister of Energy and Power Development

C Mushohwe: Minister of Youth Development, Indegenisation and Economic Empowerment

S Mandiwanzira: Minister of Information, Communication Technology and Courier Services

C Mutsvangwa: Minister of Welfare Services for War Veterans, War Collaborators, Former Political Detainees and Restrictees

Courtesy Daily News