"Swapomund" residents celebrate victory

07 Dec 2014 12:00pm
SWAKOPMUND, 07 DEC (NAMPA) – The coastal town of Swakopmund is now being referred to as “Swapomund” by Swapo members and supporters.
This joke intensified on Saturday when Member of Parliament (MP) and Swakopmund Constituency councillor Germina Shitaleni also referred to the town as such.
She was addressing a joyful crowd during the celebration of Swapo’s election victory.
Shitaleni thanked “Swapomund” residents for going out in large numbers on 28 November 2014 to vote for Swapo and its presidential candidate Hage Geingob, contributing to a landslide victory for both party and Geingob, who is now President-elect.
She also urged supporters to continue rallying behind the party for continuity of peace and democracy in the country.
“We should be grateful to have peace in our country; many countries in the world do not have peace,” said the MP.
Shitaleni also used the opportunity to remind supporters that the election race is not over yet, as the Regional and Local Authorities’ elections are expected in November 2015.
She said everyone should vote for the Swapo candidates in those elections to ensure that the ruling party also rules at regional and local level.
More than 200 people attended the Swakopmund event.
Another Swapo member, Philip Munenguni used the opportunity to request those at the event to get Swapo membership cards.
“We want everyone in Swakopmund to have a Swapo membership card. Go tell everyone at home that we want them to have membership; children should also have their cards as pioneers of the party,” he said, referring to the Swapo-Party Pioneer Movement.
Celebratory events were also held in Arandis and Omaruru.
Activities include speeches, food and drinks, and dancing to political songs.
This year, Swapo won 77 of the 96 seats in the National Assembly. The DTA of Namibia, the new official opposition, won five seats and the Rally for Democracy and Progress (outgoing official opposition) three seats.