NUDO leadership satisfied with electoral perfomance

04 Dec 2014 16:10pm
WINDHOEK, 04 DEC (NAMPA) - The National Unity Democratic Organisation (NUDO)’s president Asser Mbai is satisfied with his party's performance in the recent Presidential and National Assembly elections.
The party managed to retain its two seats in the National Assembly (NA), thanks to its strong performance by members and supporters in its traditional political home grounds of Okakarara in the Otjozondjupa Region, and the Otjinene and Aminius constituencies in the Omaheke Region.
“This was a good performance by the party. We, the leadership of Nudo, are now busy with crafting out some strategies in order to cement and strengthen our party's presence in our three traditional constituencies,” he told Nampa here on Thursday afternoon.
Mbai said the NUDO leadership is also busy mapping- out ways of how to penetrate other constituencies across the country in order to canvass more members and supporters.
He explained that the lack of financial resources in the party and the passing away and funeral arrangements of former NUDO president and OvaHerero Paramount Chief Kuaima Riruako as well as OvaHerero Chief Tumbee Tjombe presented some setbacks and challenges for the party’s leadership while running election campaigns.
On the party's way forward, Mbai said NUDO's national executive members will meet in Otjiwarongo in the Otjozondjupa Region on 20 December to discuss the party's performance in the 2014 general elections.
Another topic on the agenda will be NUDO's turn-around strategy for the next five years.
Sixteen political parties took part in this year's race for seats in the NA, and 10 managed to obtain seats.
The other parties which won NA seats are the All People's Party (APP), the Republican Party of Namibia (RP), SWANU of Namibia, the United Democratic Front of Namibia (UDF), the United People's Movement (UPM), the Workers’ Revolutionary Party (WRP), the DTA of Namibia, the Swapo-Party of Namibia and the Rally for Democracy and Progress (RDP).
The six parties which did not make it into the NA are the Christian Democratic Voice (CDV), the Congress of Democrats (CoD), the Democratic Party of Namibia (DPM), Monitor Action Group (MAG), the Namibia Economic Freedom Fighters (NEFF) and the National Democratic Party of Namibia (NDPN).
Swapo is again the ruling party, while the DTA of Namibia is now the official opposition, replacing the RDP.