DTA wins new constituency of Opuwo Rural

01 Dec 2014 09:00am
OPUWO, 01 DEC (NAMPA) – The DTA of Namibia took the lead in the Kunene Region’s newly-established constituency of Opuwo Rural in both the Presidential and National Assembly elections.
The elections took place on Friday.
The DTA’s presidential candidate, McHenry Venaani won the presidential election with 2 788 of the 4 959 votes cast in the new constituency.
The DTA also led in the National Assembly election, obtaining 2 861 or 55.5 per cent of the 5 154 votes.
The Swapo-Party’s presidential candidate Dr Hage Geingob obtained only 1 000 votes in Opuwo Rural, while his party obtained 981 votes in the National Assembly election.
The National Unity Democratic Organisation (NUDO) beat Swapo by one vote to secure the second-highest number of votes in the National Assembly election (982).
The DTA, however, lost the Epupa and Opuwo Urban Constituencies to Swapo in both elections, while the United Democratic Front (UDF) lost Sesfontein, Kamanjab and Khorixas to the ruling party.
Swapo also retained the Outjo constituency.
The Swapo-Party district mobiliser for Opuwo Rural, Kahimbona Musaso told Nampa on Sunday that the DTA’s victory in the constituency did not come as a surprise to them as they knew it was a stronghold of that party.
“We are going to use this election as baseline to prepare for the regional council elections next year,” she noted.
Musaso then congratulated Swapo for winning in six of the seven constituencies in the Kunene Region.