Determined voters line up early in Swakopmund

28 Nov 2014 10:10am
SWAKOPMUND, 28 NOV (NAMPA) – The Presidential and National Assembly elections started off well in Swakopmund with voters showing up at polling venues by 02h00 already.
Likius Lukas and Olavi Hamukwaya, who both confirmed that they showed up 02h00, were the first people to vote at 07h00 at the DRC Project School and Community Centre.
All polling stations such as Tamariskia Hall, Meduletu Community Hall, DRC Fire Station, and Hanganeni Primary School opened on time at 07h00. By then, the queues were already very long.
Erongo Regional Governor Cleophas Mutjavikua and Swakopmund Mayor Juuso Kambueshe and other local regional and local authority councillors voted at Meduletu polling station.
At the start of the voting process, all the venues had queues of more than 60 people, but these started increasing rapidly to over 200 by 7h30.
The Southern African Development Community (SADC) election observers were seen at the Tamariskia Hall during the verifying process at 06h00.
Some citizens were seen walking from DRC informal settlement to Hanganeni in the Mondesa residential area because the queues in DRC were longer than those of Hanganeni.
The shortest queue of about 50 people was observed at the Swakopmund State Hospital at 08h00.
Political party agents from the Swapo Party, United Democratic Front (UDF) and the Rally for Democracy and Progress (RDP) told Nampa at some of the visited polling stations that they are happy with the election process so far.
The ruling Swapo Party is represented at every polling venue by at least two party agents, but the opposition parties do not have representatives at all the polling stations.
The Electoral Commission of Namibia’s (ECN) Returning Officer for Swakopmund Constituency Kennethy Lifumbela also confirmed that all the venues opened on time.
He however said there was a small technical problem with the control units at Tamariskia that caused a slight delay of about 15 minutes before it was sorted out.
Overall the voting process is fast, as more than 20 people already cast their votes at many of the polling stations by 08h00.
Swakopmund has more than 16 polling stations, and there are 104 297 registered voters in the whole of the Erongo Region.