Eleven people dismissed from being polling officials

28 Nov 2014 08:30am
RUNDU, 28 NOV (NAMPA) – Eleven polling officers in the Kavango East Region were dismissed from work on Thursday after they allegedly instigated fellow workers to boycott training over money disputes.
The 11 polling officers had been recruited to work in the Presidential and National Assembly elections, but they allegedly started instigated a group of over 800 polling officers to boycott training until they get more money from the Electoral Commission of Namibia (ECN).
They were to receive N.dollars 100 daily for attending the week-long training, but they started demanding that the ECN should increase the amount.
Elections Coordinator in the Kavango East Region, Michael Kabwata confirmed to Nampa on Thursday that the polling officers were indeed dismissed for apparently influencing other polling officials to boycott the election training.
Kabwata said he personally served the 11 officials with their dismissal letters, which were signed by ECN Director Paul Isaak on Thursday.
The letters categorically informed the implicated polling officials that the “ECN has revoked their appointment letters as polling officers.
In the letters, the ECN director pointed out that the election body is mandated by an Act of parliament to direct, supervise, and control all electoral activities while maintaining integrity of the highest order at all times.
“This decision is taken by the ECN in order to protect this noble principle,” said the ECN Director in the letter.
Nampa was unable to establish the names of the dismissed polling officers.
Another polling officer, Ben Wakudumo, was also removed on Thursday because he is on the All Peoples Party (APP) National Assembly candidates list.
Wakudumo is 20th on the APP’s list for possible National Assembly positions.
He was deployed to work as a polling officer in the Mashare Constituency of the Kavango East Region. He actually received training for that position earlier this week.
The Kavango East Region has six constituencies - Mukwe, Ndiyona, Ndonga Linena, Mashare, Rundu Rural East and Rundu Urban.