Bowling Association preparing for quadrangular tournament

27 Oct 2014 18:10pm
WINDHOEK, 24 OCT (NAMPA) - The Namibia Bowling Association (NBA) is getting ready to host their first-ever quadrangular tournament.
The tournament is scheduled to take place from 31 October until 02 November 2014 on the greens of the Windhoek Country Club Resort and Casino.
A media statement availed to Nampa by the NBA on Monday said the prestigious event will see some of the finest players from South Africa and Zimbabwe battle it out with their Namibian counterparts.
Quadrangular tournaments consist of four sides competing against each other. The NBA’s public relations officer, Lesley Vermeulen told Nampa on Monday South Africa will have two teams - the Under-25 and Senior teams – competing in the tournament.
In the past, only South Africa and Namibia took part in the tournament, but the organisers have decided to expand the event by including the SA Juniors (the U-25 team) and Zimbabwe to form the quadrangular tournament.
Special focus will be placed on Namibia’s specialists Will Esterhuizen and Douw Calitz.
The duo has made headlines throughout the year. Winning the gold medal at the African States Tournament held in Botswana in September showed the continuing good form that Esterhuizen and Calitz had during the Commonwealth Games in Scotland earlier this year. At the Games, they progressed to the bronze medal match were they were narrowly defeated by England.
The pair is yet to be beaten by African powerhouse South Africa this year.
The statement said the men’s team will be complemented by Steven Peake, Axel Krahenbuhl and Graham Snyman, who all boast years of experience.
The women’s team comprises a good mix of established veterans as well as up and coming bowls players.
Diana Viljoen, Sheena du Toit Lesley Vermeulen, who share a huge amount of caps between themselves, will lead the pack, while Anjuleen Viljoen and Renetta de Kock are set to add some fresh flair to the team.
The Namibian teams are as follows:
Men: Will Esterhuizen (pairs and fours); Douw Calitz (pairs and fours); Steven Peake (trips and fours); Axel Krahenbuhl (trips and fours); Graham Snyman (pairs and singles).
Women: Diana Viljoen (trips and fours); Sheena du Toit (trips and fours); Lesley Vermeulen (pairs and singles); Anjuleen Viljoen (trips and fours); Renetta de Kock (pairs and fours).