Isaacks laid to rest at Berseba

26 Oct 2014 12:50pm
BERSEBA, 25 OCT (NAMPA) – The Deputy Prime Minister of Mines and Energy, Willem Isaacks, was laid to rest at his native village of Berseba on Saturday.
Isaacks died in a car accident on 8 October.
Isaacks received a dignified state funeral with military parades, brass bands, horse-riding processions, and the attendance of top Government officials including first citizen, President Hifikepunye Pohamba.
The President was also amongst the top dignitaries that attended the memorial service on Friday.
At both occasions, Pohamba provided words of solace to the late Isaacks's family and friends.
'The passing on of a beloved family member is always a painful experience. It is for this reason that we have come here to share the sorrow and immense pain that has befallen the home of late comrade Willem Isaacks,' Pohamba said at the memorial service.
He said Isaacks’ life story should serve as inspiration to young people.
'His story is of a boy who rose from humble beginnings to become a man who was entrusted with important duties at national level. His zest for work as a community mobiliser and political leader will be indeed missed,' Pohamba said.
At the funeral, he told the family and friends: 'We wish you strength and courage to go on as you start a new chapter in your lives without your beloved husband, father, brother, uncle and grandfather and take forward the beautiful memories he leaves behind.'
Funeral director of ceremonies, deputy minister of veterans’ affairs,Hilma Nicanor said Isaacks has done his part; completed the race and was now at his final resting place.
Lutheran Church deputy Bishop Paul Hatani Kisting performed the last rites at the funeral. The Namibia Defence Force removed the national flag which had covered the late deputy prime minister's casket, before it was lowered simultaneously with several gun salute.
National leaders at the funeral included First Lady Penehupifo Pohamba, Deputy Prime Minister Marco Hausiku, Chief Justice Peter Shivute, National Council (NC) Chairman Asser Kapere, NC Deputy Chairperson Margareth Mensah-Williams, Minister of Mines and Energy Isak Katali and //Karas Governor Bermudas Swartbooi.