Omusati a ruling party power house: Endjala

19 Oct 2014 12:40pm
OSHIKUKU, 19 OCT (NAMPA) – The Swapo-Party’s coordinator in the Omusati Region, Erginus Endjala is a ruling party power house.
Speaking at a regional election campaign star rally held in the Oshikuku Constituency on Saturday, he said the Omusati Region is a Swapo-Party power house instead of “a no-go area” for other political parties.
“They called us undemocratic when we previously said no room for opposition parties in the Omusati Region as they have no members in our region,” Endjala told his audience, including former President Dr Sam Nujoma.
He said he believes the Omusati Region has voted at least 98 per cent for Swapo in Presidential and National Assembly Elections from 1999 to 2009.
He noted that the Electoral Commission of Namibia (ECN) revealed in its voters’ registration statistics for this year that Omusati has a total of 139 760 registered voters.
“We are second to Khomas, and 99.9 per cent of those registered voters are Swapo-Party members,” Endjala boasted.
He said if a National Assembly (NA) seat is still worth 11 000 votes, then the Omusati Region will potentially guarantee the Swapo-Party 13 seats in the NA.
A total of 1.2 million people have registered as voters for this year’s elections, with the Omusati Region making up 11 per cent of this figure.
“We are a force to reckon with. We will go in big numbers during the upcoming elections to vote for the Swapo-Party to ensure a resounding victory for the party,” Endjala said.
Nujoma, the main speaker at the rally, urged the people of Omusati to go out in big numbers to the polls on 28 November to vote overwhelmingly for the Swapo-Party and its presidential candidate.
“Ensure that comrade Dr Hage Geingob emerges as the country’s next President in order for the Swapo-Party to continue maintaining peace and stability as well as unity, economic independence and prosperity for all Namibians,” he said.
The Omusati Region is said to have a total population of 245 000 inhabitants mainly derived from traditional authorities such as Ombalantu, Uukwaluudhi, Ongandjera, Uukolonkadhi, Uukwambi, Ombadja and Oukwanyama.