Namibia Premier League launched

03 Oct 2014 13:50pm
WINDHOEK, 03 OCT (NAMPA) – The Mobile Telecommunications Limited (MTC) Namibia Premier League (NPL) was launched here on Thursday.
The 2014/15 MTC Namibia Premier League will kick off on 11 October at stadia outside Windhoek.
The Sam Nujoma and Independence stadiums in Windhoek will from the same day until 25 October 2014 be used for the Confederation of African Football (CAF) Women’s Championship, giving the league no option but to play all their games for all Windhoek-based teams outside the city.
Speaking during the launch, NPL Chairperson Johnny Doeseb apologised to the football fraternity for what transpired between the league and one of the biggest crowd-pullers in local football, African Stars in the 2013/2014 season.
“Last season was a learning process for all of us and we promise all the football-loving Namibians that there will be no repeat of what happened last season between African Stars and the league,” said Doeseb.
African Stars took the NPL to court after they were told to play only the remaining eight minutes of an abandoned match, while the club wanted to replay the whole game.
The squabble which led to the court case emanated from the abandonment of a game between African Stars and Orlando Pirates after the lights at the Sam Nujoma Stadium went out on 16 April this year.
At the time, there were only eight minutes of play left on the clock, with Pirates leading 2-0.
Speaking at the same event, MTC’s Chief Human Capital and Corporate Affairs Officer, Tim Ekandjo expressed disappointment with the low attendance figures at football stadiums. He urged the league administrators and football club owners to look for a strategy that will help bring supporters back to the stadiums.
Doeseb noted that the league is currently busy looking at ways in which it can address the attendance issue.
Meanwhile, 16 teams will compete in the 2014/15 NPL season. MTC subsequently increased its sponsorship of N.dollars 14.2 million per season to N.dollars 16.5 million per season.
It was also announced that the three premier league teams that end at the bottom of the log will be relegated to the first division, while the three first division teams that win their streams will be promoted to the elite league.