Swapo-Party in total confusion: Hamutenya

20 Sep 2014 13:20pm
WINDHOEK, 20 SEP (NAMPA) – Rally for Democracy and Progress (RDP) president Hidipo Hamutenya says the Swapo-Party is “in total confusion, with in-fighting running high” following the party's Electoral College.
Hamutenya said this on Saturday during the official opening of his party's Electoral College in Windhoek.
The Swapo-Party held its two-day Electoral College late last month and elected 96 people who will represent the Swapo in the upper legislative House, subject to the number of seats won in the National Assembly election at the end of this year.
Several prominent Swapo-Party veteran politicians did not make it onto the party list for the National Assembly elections at the end of this year.
There has reportedly been discontent about the outcome of the Electoral College.
President Hifikepunye Pohamba however last week rubbished reports about such discontent, saying the outcome of the Swapo-Party Electoral College reflects the spirit of the Swapo Constitution, as well as the will of the majority of the party’s members.
“The ruling party is in total confusion, with infighting running high. Let us seize this golden opportunity to further highlight the division in their ranks,” Hamutenya said to thunderous applause.
He called on the RDP members to show the country the party would make the best alternative government.
“The only way we can achieve this is to put aside our petty differences and squabbles and work for the common good of the nation, our party, our members and supporters,” he said.
The RDP Electoral College, also known as the ‘basket’, started Saturday morning.
With the passing of the Namibian Constitution’s third Amendment Bill in the National Assembly last month, the Electoral College is expected to elect 96 people for the Party list, instead of the previous 72 names.
The gathering offers RDP members an opportunity to list the names of cadres who will represent the party in the National Assembly, subject to the number of seats the party wins in the National Assembly election at the end of the year.