12 Jul 2013 11:19

WASHINGTON, July 10 (BERNAMA-NNN-MERCOPRESS) -- The Organisation of American States (OAS)' Permanent Council adopted on Tuesday a resolution expressing solidarity with Bolivian President Evo Morales, whose official aircraft on July 2 was delayed because of air space pass-by denial in Europe.

It also urged the European countries involved to provide explanations and apologies.

The text, adopted by consensus in a special meeting of the Council convened at the request of Bolivia, Ecuador, Nicaragua and Venezuela, resolves "to condemn actions that violated basic rules and principles of international law such as the inviolability of Heads of State."

It also strongly calls upon the governments of France, Portugal, Italy and Spain to provide the necessary explanations and apologies about the events involving the President of the Plurinational State of Bolivia, Evo Morales and the corresponding apologies.

The resolution reaffirms the "full validity of the principles, rules and international customs governing diplomatic relations among states.”

It also calls on the parties involved to "continue respectful and constructive dialogue, under the rules of international law and the mechanisms for the peaceful settlement of disputes."

During the special meeting, Secretary General of OAS, José Miguel Insulza, said he feels "a great indignation and immense solidarity in response to the aggression suffered by a leader of Latin America and the Caribbean.

"What happened on July 2 cannot be qualified as a commonplace incident. It is a serious offence to a democratic President of this region. It is very clear that this is an event that goes beyond the explanations that have been given here.

"Where did this news come from that Mr. Snowden was on the plane? Why was it believed? The best way to clear everything up is through transparency," he said.

The special meeting of the Council was attended by representatives of Nicaragua, Venezuela, Ecuador, Peru, Brazil, Panama, Mexico, Argentina, Bolivia, Uruguay, Canada, the Dominican Republic, United States, Colombia, El Salvador and Haiti, as well as Permanent Observers of Italy, Spain, France, Portugal and the European Union.