Ohangwena RDP secretary endorses regional delegates

09 Sep 2014 14:00pm
OHANGWENA, 09 SEP (NAMPA) – The secretary of the Rally for Democracy and Progress (RDP) in the Ohangwena Region, Timo Shikongo has expressed satisfaction with the outcome of the party’s regional electoral college held over the weekend.
About 50 members of the RDP Ohangwena regional committee on Sunday gathered at Onhuno village in the Ohangwena Region to elect 10 delegates who will represent the region at the party’s national electoral college, which takes place in Windhoek on 20 September.
Shikongo said Saturday’s election went very well and was a “free, fair, transparent and democratic” voting process.
“It was a surprise that, through a secret ballot, exactly five men and five women have been elected as our regional representatives at the national electoral college,” he said.
The RDP councillor in the Ohangwena Region’s Eenhana Town Council, Walter Ndakondja, is said to have topped the list of Ohangwena RDP delegates.
Ndakondja, who is also the inspector of education for the Ohakafiya Circuit, is followed by the RDP’s former candidate for the just-concluded Ohangwena Constituency by-election, Vilho Shimwooshili.
Lioba Ndapuka, Juda Djona Reinholdt, Teopolina Shatilwe, Josef Halweendo, Hilimemwene Haulyondjaba, Frieda Kashikatu, Hafeni Jermia and Ndeyapo Haitembu are the other Ohangwena RDP delegates elected on Sunday.
All 10 delegates qualify to vote and to be voted for at the RDP national electoral college as the party’s candidates for the forthcoming National Assembly elections.