Annual sports awards launched

02 Sep 2014 17:40pm
WINDHOEK, 02 AUG (NAMPA) - The annual sports awards' ceremony is set to take place on 31 October.
This was announced by the Namibia Sports Commission (NSC) here on Tuesday.
At the same occasion, the nomination process for the best sportspersons for the 2013/2014 year was launched.
The nomination period is 02 to 31 September 2014.
Athletes allegeable for nomination are those who have been in action from October 2013 to September 2014.
Speaking during the event, NSC vice-chairperson Amos Shiyuka said the commission is looking forward to improved prizes for winners this year.
“We are currently busy negotiating with our sponsors on the prizes awarded to athletes, because if you look at what athletes get in other countries and what we give them in our country, it is really embarrassing,” he said.
Shiyuka added that only sports codes which have a good standing with the NSC will be considered for nomination.
“This year we want all sports codes to first present us their budgets even though the sports commission is not giving them money. All we want to see is how the codes use their money and how they run their activities,” he stated.
Also speaking during the launch, chairperson of the judging panel and sports commissioner, Piet du Plooy said this year the judges will not select athletes to contest the Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year awards as was the case in the past.
He said nominations for this category will be done by the sports codes and the media.
The aim is to recognise only the best and most outstanding athlete – able-bodied or with disabilities as the Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year, respectively.
The panel will still select candidates for the Top Achiever of the Year.
Du Plooy further said this year, sports association presidents cannot be nominated for awards.
“Association presidents get the accolade of representing the country at a lot of events internationally and locally. At least they need to give opportunities to their colleagues in the office who are not recognised for their hard work,” he stated.
Meanwhile, this year the Volunteer of the Year Award will be open to all individuals, unlike in the past when only Namibians were allowed to enter.
Such volunteers should, however, not be full-time employees of the sports bodies or associations.
This year will also see individual awards for the Best Sports Reporter for Radio, Print, Digital and Television, respectively. In the past only one media practitioner was selected from among the different media establishments.
Apart from Du Plooy, other members of the judging panel are, like last year, Lesley Tjiueza, Talitha Jario, Patrick Haingura, Carlos Kambaekwa.
Tjiueza represents the digital media; Jario represents the corporate world; Haingura represents Government; and Kambaekwa represents the print media.