RDP elects regional electoral college delegates

02 Sep 2014 12:50pm
ONGWEDIVA, 02 SEP (NAMPA) – The Oshana regional executive committee of the Rally for Democracy and Progress (RDP) has become the first regional leadership to elect its delegates for the party's Electoral College set for Windhoek later this month.
One of the party's national leaders, Eino Heelu revealed this to Nampa on Monday, saying the 10 delegates were selected during the party's regional conference held at Ongwediva over the weekend.
They are Nelly Shatilwe, Liina Nakaambo, Rebecka Kefas, Daniel Kambabi, Israel Hainana, Helvy Hainana, Salmi Benjamen, Ronny Petrus, Justy Itoolwa and Henry Namhunya.
Heelu noted that the RDP Electoral College will be held on 20 September, during which the party's 96 candidates for the National Assembly (NA) election will be chosen.
Each region should select 10 delegates to represent their respective regions at the envisaged Electoral College.
“All delegates from the regions qualify to vote and to be elected during the Electoral College, besides members of the central committee and the delegates from the youth and women wings of the party,” Heelu explained.
He further said the Oshana regional conference went well, and the selection of the delegates was conducted democratically, transparently and the whole process was free and fair.
Heelu, Sacky Amenya and Penda Nangolo – other members of the RDP central committee - supervised the elections of the Oshana Region delegates.
“We expect other regions to follow the example set by the Oshana Region when they also elect their Electoral College delegates,” he stated.