Onehoni CS gets MultiChoice Resource Centre

11 Aug 2014 16:10pm
ONGWEDIVA, 11 AUG (NAMPA) - A new MultiChoice Resource Centre (MRC) was opened at the Onehoni Combined School (CS) at Efinde Village in the Ohangwena Region on Wednesday.
MultiChoice is a South African company that operates the DStv Satellite Television service, a major satellite TV service in Sub-Saharan Africa.
MultiChoice Namibia revealed this in a media statement last Wednesday, saying it recognises that education remains a priority in Namibia, hence the opening of 10 new MRCs at schools across the country.
“By so doing, the business continues to leverage its powerful digital satellite platform to make a difference in the lives of students and teachers nationwide,” read the media statement.
The statement pointed out that the total investment for the 10 new centres is N.dollars 116 000, excluding training costs.
“The handover of state-of-the-art equipment was welcomed not only by the learners, teachers and support staff of the school but also by the community of the village,” said MultiChoice Namibia in the statement.
The company believes the investment, the first of its kind to the school and the village by any institution, is going to provide the learners and community with access to information and news on science, technology and mathematics.
The MRC programme has reportedly established over 1 700 centres at schools and educational institutions across 26 African countries, including Namibia.
In Namibia alone, over 360 schools have benefited from the programme.
All the schools which benefit from the MRC programme received a flat-screen television, mounting bracket, DStv Explora decoder, satellite dish and installation.
The schools receive access to the DStv Education Bouquet, new teaching material and resources to record such material on the DStv Explora PVR function (personal video recording).
MultiChoice Namibia's General Manager, Roger Gerze was quoted as saying in the statement that other schools in Namibia are to benefit from MRC programme during this financial year.
These schools are Daweb CS (Hardap Region), Elim Junior Secondary School (Omusati Region), Himarua Ithete Junior Secondary School (Kavango West), Vaalgras Community School (//Karas Region), Kanyumara Primary School (Kavango East Region) and the Katutura Multi-Purpose Resource Centre (Khomas Region).