Kuugongelwa wins Old Mutual Victory Race series

28 Jul 2014 15:30pm
WINDHOEK, 28 JUL (NAMPA) – the Namibian Defence Force (NDF)’s long-distance runner Uveni-Nawa Kuugongelwa overcame challenges from his colleagues Johannes Naitembu and Simon Shipingana to win the last race of the Old Mutual Victory Race series, hosted here on Saturday.
This year’s race was the 14th edition of the Old Mutual Victory Races.
It started in Oshakati at the Oshakati Independence Stadium on 04 June.
The second leg of the four-legged road race series took place at Swakopmund on 28 June; while Keetmanshoop in the //Karas Region hosted the third leg on 12 July.
The decisive final leg of the race started off at the Jan Möhr Senior Secondary School in Windhoek. Kuugongelwa won the 21-kilometre (km) race in a time of one hour, eight minutes and 45 seconds (1:08.45). Johannes Naitembu came in second with a time of 1:09.03, and Simon Shipingana was third in a time of 1:10.59.
In the women’s category, Alina Armas came first with a time of 1:18.22; while Anna Amukoto took the second spot with a time of 1:20.38, and Helena Iipinge came in third on 1:23.18.
After the race, Kuugongelwa told Nampa that the Windhoek race was not easy as it was windy and hilly.
“I did not get a big challenge as I expected, but it was very cold and windy.
The hills also made it difficult to complete the race in a fast time, but I am very happy to come here and remain unbeaten for this year’s series,” he beamed.
Kuugongelwa won all four legs of the 2014 Old Mutual Victory Race Series.
Armas concurred with Kuugongelwa’s comments, saying the hilly route and the morning wind made it very hard for athletes to put in their best time.
“I am feeling very happy to have won this race. It is all down to hard work, but today the wind affected my running as I was hoping for a better performance, and to record a good time at the finishing line.
That did not happen, but I am happy to have won,” she said.
There was no clear-cut winner in the women's category, because the four legs of the series produced different winners.
An Old Mutual race official told this agency that this category's winner will be announced before 18 August this year.