NASCAM announces new Board members

23 Jul 2014 18:00pm
WINDHOEK, 23 JUL (NAMPA) - The Namibian Society of Composers and Authors of Music (NASCAM) announced its new Board members on Wednesday.
These new members were elected during the organisation’s Extra-ordinary Annual General Meeting (AGM) held on 19 July 2014.
The Board is made up of Silas-Kishi Shakumu as chairperson, Jose Efriam as deputy chairperson, Franz Katamelo, Josef Gabriel, Pieter Hoakhaob, and John Walenga; and they will serve in their positions for three years.
Making the announcement in the capital, NASCAM Chief Executive Officer (CEO) John Max said the AGM took a resolution for NASCAM to celebrate its 20th anniversary this year.
The celebrations will take place in either August or September this year, with the final date to be announced at a later stage.
Max said during its 20 years of its existence, NASCAM has managed to license all radio stations and broadcasters in the country and fought extensively against piracy with the assistance of the Namibian Police Force (NamPol) and customs officials.
He added that the membership of NASCAM has grown to 6 000 with over 60 000 songs, and the organisation has expanded its offices across the country.
“Last year, we distributed over N.dollars 1.2 million in royalties to our members and it is one of our major achievements,” he said.
Max further informed members of the media that NASCAM attended the Confederation of International Society of Authors and Composers general assembly from 24 to 26 June this year in Algiers, Algeria where he was chosen to serve on that organisation’s Board for two years.