Bukalo ready for local authority elections

22 Jul 2014 13:40pm
WINDHOEK, 22 JUL (NAMPA) – Five political parties have fielded candidates for the Bukalo local authority elections slated to take place there on 22 August this year.
Bukalo is situated in the Katima Mulilo Rural Constituency, some 40 kilometres east of Katima Mulilo. It was proclaimed a town after recommendations made by the Fourth Delimitation Commission in this regard last year.
Parties had until 11h00 on Tuesday this week to submit the names of their candidates.
Electoral Commission of Namibia (ECN) returning officer for the Zambezi Region, Alfred Mbukusa told Nampa on Tuesday that the Swapo-Party, DTA of Namibia, National Democratic Party (NDP), Congress of Democrats (CoD) and Rally for Democracy (RDP) have submitted the names of their candidates for the local authority elections.
He will release the candidates' names at a later stage.
The supplementary registration of voters took place between 23 and 25 June this year, while the display of the provisional voters’ register was done from 03 and 06 July this year.
Mbukusa also indicated that it is expected that Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) will be used during the upcoming local authority elections.
The EVMs, acquired from Indian manufacturer Baharat at a cost of N.dollars 10 million, are also expected to be used in the Presidential and National Assembly elections slated for November this year.
According to the ECN, the EVMs reduce the time spent on both casting votes and declaring the results compared to the old paper-based ballot system.