NPL announces nominees

14 Jul 2014 17:00pm
WINDHOEK, 14 JUL (NAMPA) – The delayed Mobile Telecommunications Limited (MTC) - Namibia Premier League (NPL) awards’ ceremony will take place this Friday.
The NPL announced the nominees for the different awards on Monday.
The delay was caused by an abandoned match between African Stars Football Club (FC) and Orlando Pirates FC, which was to be replayed after the lights at the Sam Nujoma Stadium went out on 16 April.
At the time, there were only eight minutes of play left on the clock, and Pirates were leading by 2-0.
However, Stars’ management took the case to the High Court on the basis that they should be allowed to replay the entire 90 minutes, and not only eight minutes.
The case was struck from the court roll last month because Stars failed to proof the urgency of the matter in their appeal.
That eight-minute match was eventually replayed on 02 July this year, and Pirates won 2-0.
The categories, nominees and prize money for the 2013/14 MTC Premiership season are:

MTC Premiership Top Goalscorer of the Season (N.dollars 15 000)
Hendrick Somaeb from LHU Blue Waters FC. Somaeb is the outright winner on the basis of having scored 17 goals, the highest number of goals during the season.

MTC Premiership Player of the Season (N.dollars 30 000)
- Brian Gurirab - FNB Orlando Pirates FC
- Willy Stephanus- Black Africa FC
- Hendrick Somaeb - LHU Blue Waters FC

MTC Premiership Players’ Player of the Season (N.dollars 20 000)
- Protash Kabwe - Tigers FC
- Willy Stephanus - Black Africa FC
- Hendrick Somaeb - LHU Blue Waters FC

MTC Premiership Coach of the Season (N.dollars 20 000)
- Timo Tjongarero - Tura Magic FC
- Woody Jacobs - African Stars FC
- Brian Isaacs - Black Africa FC

MTC Premiership Referee of the Season (N.dollars 10 000)
- Jonas Shongedi- Oshana Region
- Martin Ndara - Kavango Region
- Reinhold Malima - Khomas Region

MTC Premiership Assistant Referee of the Season (N.dollars 5 000)
- Christof Vries - Karas Region
- John Maseka - Kavango Region
- Mathew Kanyanga - Khomas Region