Namibian Bowling Association rewards top performers

11 Jul 2014 13:20pm
WINDHOEK, 11 JUL (NAMPA) – The TransNamib Bowling Club’s men’s and women’s teams were crowned champions of the 2014 National Bowls League in Windhoek on Sunday.
The Namibian Bowling Association (NBA) handed out the awards after the final match day of this year’s National League.
The NBA said in a statement availed to Nampa on Friday the Team of the Year award went to the men’s national team, which secured the second overall place after South Africa at the African States’ Tournament (AST) on home soil last year.
The efforts of team members Jean Viljoen, Ewald Vermeulen, Willem “Will” Esterhuizen, Axel Krähenbühl and Graham Snyman also qualified Namibia for the Commonwealth Games scheduled to take place in the Scottish capital, Glasgow later this month.
Esterhuizen was crowned Men’s Bowler of the Year, thanks to his exceptional performances not only at the AST, but also for his club (TransNamib).
Another outstanding performer of the year was Sheena du Toit, who was rewarded with the Female Bowler of the Year award. Du Toit beat the likes of Diana Viljoen, Anjuleen Viljoen and Roelien Stander to the prize.
Anjuleen Viljoen, who formed part of this year’s winning TransNamib women’s team, was recognised as the Most Promising Player of the year after earning her first cap for Namibia.
Meanwhile, Ekkie Gaertner and Erna Mueller shared the NBA Sportsmanship award, while Alexander 'Sandy' Joubert and Tollie Cronje received certificates of appreciation for their hard work throughout the year.