National Elections results come in

May 8, 2014, 10:30am

The early results in the fifth democratic election in South Africa continued to come in at the Electoral Commission of SA results centre in Pretoria on Thursday morning. The results at 2.20am showed that the African National Congress had 309,854 votes, the Democratic Alliance had 192,525 votes, the Economic Freedom Fighters had 18,880 votes and the United Democratic Movement had 6821 votes. Representatives from the various political parties remained at the centre to keep an eye as the results continued to be updated. Media, party representatives and IEC staff sat on the chairs in front of the results boards and discussed the results as they were updated. Some people took pictures in front of the boards. The Freedom Front Plus had 9744 votes, the Congress of the People 5157 votes, Inkatha Freedom Party 8317 votes, Agang SA 1282 votes and the National Freedom Party 5979 votes. The Workers Socialist Party had 317 votes, African Christian Democratic Party 4170, the African Independent Congress 3173 and the African Peoples Convention 1135 votes. Al Jama-Ah had 1176 votes, Azanian Peoples Organisation 441 votes, Bushbuckridge Residents Association 340 votes, First Nation Liberation Alliance 156, and Front National had 207 votes. The Independent Civic Organisation of SA had 1796 votes, Keep It Straight and Simple 111, Kingdom Governance Movement 282, Minority Front 257 and Pan Africanist Congress of Azania 876. The Pan Africanist Movement had 140 votes, Patriotic Alliance 1033, Peoples Alliance 73, and the Ubuntu Party 286. The United Christian Democratic Party had 425 votes and United Congress had 92. Sapa /dm/aa/ks